Five on Friday – 5 things I learnt making a lampshade

5 things I learnt making a lampshade.

I had some fabric left from making the curtains for the guest room, and I needed a matching lampshade, but living in a backwater there’s not a lot of choice, all were either too bling or boring. I decided to make my own,1 so I ordered a lampshade making kit from LoveYourLampshade on Etsy .

Here’s the kit, the instructions are really clear but I learnt a few things when I was making the lampshade.
P1290843

  1.  The roll of stiffener wants to roll up all the time making it difficult to work with, so weighting it down is a good idea.

P12908442. When you peel off the edging take care as the fabric can fray.

P12908453. It’s a good idea to have an extra pair of hands when you do the roll up.

P12908484. Putting a little bit of tape where the fabric overlaps makes life much easier when tucking in the edges.

P1290850

P12908515. Tucking in the edge was the trickiest bit but it’s not that difficult once you know how to use the tool, watch the video.

P1290849
P1290852I really enjoyed making the lampshade and I will definitely make more, I have a couple of lamps that could do with a face lift.

So here it is hanging in the bedroom. I’m wondering if I can use the fabric scraps in a picture idea I have in my head, so come back on Sunday to have a read about how I got on. And why not join in Creative Sundays link up.

P1290982

P1290984

Now I’m off to read what everyone is up to for 5 on Friday

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Five on Friday – 5 things I learnt making a lampshade

  1. jean thatcher says:

    IS THERE ANYTHING YOU DON’T DO?

  2. It looks amazing, I love the fabric you used.

  3. riitta k says:

    Well done!!! The lamp shade is the spring itself!

  4. thehistoryanorak says:

    But it’s lovely and well worth the effort. It looks very professional.
    I’ve thought about making lampshades but always wimp out. Maybe I should have a go. (Don’t think I’d be brave enough to post pictures of MY efforts though.)

  5. Rosie says:

    Worth all the hard and fiddly work to get the exact shade you want – it looks lovely:)

  6. Linda P. says:

    You’ve chosen a lovely fabric and I should think the cylindrical shape is easier to work on. Very professional looking. Have a good weekend!

  7. Barbara says:

    What a great idea. You can use matching fabric. I may give it a go! Barbara

  8. 1066jq says:

    That is so pretty! Lamp shades are ridiculously expensive.

  9. Lorrie says:

    Your new lampshade is very pretty and very well done!

  10. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    Very smart and professional. I must admit after having bare bulbs in the sitting room for a while as we couldn’t find anything suitable, we resorted to yogurt pots in the end! 🙂

  11. That’s lovely! Thank you for the tips – I think I’m going to have a go. x

Leave a Reply

