Creative Sundays Week 3 – playing with textiles

This week I’ve been working indoors, playing with my new sewing machine as it’s been too cold to venture out into the studio.

I decided to have a go at a patchwork cushion to go on my painted chair. I had a vintage embroidered tray cloth which I wanted to incorporate. My mother was a dressmaker and I could hear her advice as I was sewing, it’s not straight, match up the corners etc.

P1300046,If you saw my lampshade making post on Friday you will know I had some fabric left over, ( seems left over fabric leads to new projects ) so I decided to try and incorporate some of the fabric into a mixed media picture .

Here’s a reminder of the first stage before I started embroidering.
P1290988

And here it is with the embroidery. I’m going to look at it for a few days before it goes in the frame. I think I like it just as it is though. There is a pleasing simplicity about it.
P1300045Next I made some covered coat hangers with some fabric left from the cushion. I’m going to scent the little ceramic hearts with some lavender oil to hopefully keep the moths at bay.

P1300048

If you are joining in with Creative Sunday’s link up click below to add your website. Please link back to Creative Sundays in your blog post so folks can visit the other participants.

If you need further information click here

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Creative Sundays Week 3 – playing with textiles

  1. Love the cushion I keep thinking of trying patchwork again but I tend sew wonky.
    The picture is beautiful xx

  2. Laney Mead says:

    wow!! that picture is brilliant!!

  3. Wendy says:

    What a lovely picture. Is it hand or machine embroidered?

  4. As everyone else has said, that is a beautiful picture

Leave a Reply

