WOYWW – painting a mural

I’m afraid I can’t show you pictures of what I’m working on just now as it’s for a client. It’s a tile mural. Here are the tiles laid out on a board my husband made me, it has edges so I can prop it up without the tiles falling off.

P1300043

Painting a tile mural is quite back breaking as I have to sweep the colour across adjoining tiles, then I can pick them up and work on each tile individually.

There are quite a few considerations when designing a tile mural, placement is especially important, you don’t want the grouting line to cut a face right down the middle, or through an eye.

I’m off to have a quick look at Stamping Ground and then I’m off to paint. Hopefully I can show you something soon.

Enjoy your day

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WOYWW – painting a mural

  1. Vicky says:

    looking forward to seeing the finished result. Happy WOYWW Vicky #3

  2. Interesting to read your post. The frame looks so useful for creating your murals. Will look forward to seeing the completed piece, Judith xx #32

  3. zksmith says:

    I hope to take a glimpse at your finished project if you’re allowed to share it! I’m intrigued! Happy WOYWW! zsuzsa #34

  4. Linda says:

    Good luck with your project. Happy crafting. Linda #51

  5. dawn says:

    Exciting…do have a design or going with the flow? Would love to see when you can share.
    Dawn #43

  6. Very cool and mysterious! Have s good week.
    Diane WOYWW #31

  7. Julia says:

    Gosh, will you be able to show us at any stage? Does it have faces on it then…you taking features and grouting into consideration and all. Blimey! Top commission!

  8. Barb Williams says:

    Your hubby has made a super frame for you. I look forward to seeing the finished mural. Barbxx #16

  9. I do hope we’ll be able to see some tiles soon when they’re finished. Have a great week Helen #2

  10. Sharon K says:

    Sounds interesting! Can’t wait to see the finished result.

    Sharon k #42

  11. Nikki C says:

    I’ve painted tiles before but nothing that fancy with a face and I get what you mean you want to try to get the bulk or the face in the tile would look deformed with grout running throughout it happy WOYWW hugs Nikki 4

Leave a Reply

