Five on Friday – 5 interesting buildings for artists

Something a bit different from me today, I’ve been thinking a lot about how lucky I am to have lived all over the country. I’ve seen a lot of beautiful landscapes, visited some lovely towns and villages and seen some very interesting buildings which is good because I love architecture, and although buildings are a challenge to paint it doesn’t stop me thinking about painting them.

Scotney Castle.

I wanted to see Scotney castle for a long time, as I had painted it from books, we had a long day out to get there but it was well worth the drive
Scotney Castle 1

Little Moreton Hall.

I have visited Little Moreton Hall  so many times but I never tire of this amazing building. I have painted it on porcelain using penwork and washes.
Little Moreton Hall, Cheshire 1

Arlington Row, Bibury.
Arlington Row was another place on my ‘places to see’ list, William Morris was impressed by these lovely little cottages apparently.
IMG_0932

Bridge House, Ambleside.

Bridge House is so charming, but it’s hard to imagine this wasn’t just built just as a tourist attraction.
bridge-house-ambleside-cumbria

Bodiham Castle.

Bodiham is such an impressive castle, I love the symmetry, and the reflections.
Bodiham Castle 1Which one is your favourite? Or is there another building that you love somewhere?

Have a good Friday , and why not pop over to Love made My Home have a read of some other 5’s on Friday

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five on Friday – 5 interesting buildings for artists

  1. thehistoryanorak says:

    My parents had Bridge House on their door knocker. I tried to retrieve it after mum died and the house was sold, but I couldn’t shift the screws. I was upset, as you’d imagine. Thanks for sharing it here.

  2. riitta k says:

    Absolutely beautiful! All places but especially the Arlington Row.

  3. What an amazing five, beautiful places to visit each with its own character.

  4. Five great places!! I have only been too two of these, Little Moreton Hall and Bridge House, but I really enjoyed them. The others all sound like great places to visit too! Thank you for sharing at Five On Friday, hope you have a great weekend. xx

  5. Mirjam says:

    I love those buildings too…
    So funny, last year we visited Bodiam castle and we really liked it, even your teenager was impressed ;-).
    So nice to see it here on your blog again!
    Love from Mirjam.

  6. 1066jq says:

    I’ve been to a few of these, but not Scotney, but I’ve always wanted to. Would love to see your paintings.

  7. A lovely Five. I haven’t been to any of them and yet they all look familiar. x

  8. I love Little Moreton Hall. Just beautiful. I have visited several times…such a fascinating place. Barbara

Leave a Reply

