5 on Friday- my favourite cake recipes

I have a weekend of crafting planned this weekend, my friend will be coming to stay so I have cake making on my mind.

Here are 5 of my favourite cake recipes, some have been blogged before. Now which one do I make?
Click on the title to go to the recipe
New Bran Loaf – This one is my version of the classic All Bran loaf, it’s my brother’s favourite cake and the recipe has featured in many church magazines since I first published it.

P1140316

Gran’s Ginger Cakethis is a wartime recipe without eggs, and it has won prizes. It’s moist and sticky and very gingery, great as a pud with custard too.

IMG_0048

Snow Cake – my Mum’s recipe and my daughter’s favourite cake, light, buttery and crumbly , it just melts in the mouth.

snow cake

I have to have a lemon drizzle cake in here, sorry no photo, but my favourite is BBC Good Food’s Lighter Lemon Drizzle Cake 

And for when I want a chocolate cake there is:

Low Fat Chocolate Brownie which I like to serve warm with berries and vanilla ice cream

P1140169

You may have noticed I don’t go in for iced cakes, I find them too sweet. My favourite above all of these cakes would have to be a homemade scone, just warm with jam and clotted cream. My friend says I make the best scones, so maybe I will have to make some for the weekend.

Enjoy your weekend, but first why not pop over to read some more 5 on Friday posts.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 5 on Friday- my favourite cake recipes

  1. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    Delicious. I am rather partial to a cheese scone myself. 🙂

  2. thehistoryanorak says:

    Oh dear – just when I’ve decided I have to give up cake because my diabetes blood results were bad. Or maybe just one slice of the snow cake?

  3. My mouth is watering, I am now going to pop into the kitchen to see what is in the cake tin. Thye all look delicious.

  4. Rosie says:

    They all look delicious but I rather like the look and sound of the ginger cake. Have a lovely weekend:)

  5. fiona says:

    I like baking too but have to take them to work or give to neighbours otherwise I’d be huge.
    Your recipes all look scrumptious.

  6. Ellen says:

    Well now I need a cup of tea and a slice of one of your favorites!

  7. Oh that would be a very hard choice! Better not make all five at once though, that might be very dangerous for the waistline – well, for me anyway!! Thank you for joining Five On Friday, I hope that you have a good weekend! xx

  8. Janet says:

    I’m definitely going to try the low calorie chocolate brownies.j

  9. Linda P. says:

    Difficult to choose which of your five I would enjoy the most! I do like drizzle cake. I hope you have an enjoyable crafting weekend when your friend comes to stay.

  10. Lorrie says:

    I’m rather fond of lemon loaf, especially when drizzled with lemon syrup! Your selections look tasty.

Leave a Reply

