Ceramic succultent planters – WOYWW

Hello, here’s my table last night, nothing has changed this morning except these are now covered with polythene to dry slowly.

I have been working with clay recently, hand building succulent planters, and some more ceramic beads as I’m running out of stock. Clay has to be the messiest medium, and I’m the messiest worker, and I know you paper crafts people are very neat and tidy . Feeling a tad ashamed over the state of my studio I spent yesterday morning cleaning up my mess in order to get some photos that I felt I could share.
P1300887Here are a few closeups, there are planters of all sizes, I have had so many folks commenting on the large planter I made for myself I thought I needed a range to suit everyone. Some have a slightly domed top, they remind me of flying saucers.
P1300889The large planter was quite a struggle but in the end I’m happy with it, let’s hope it fires well. I made a little egg shaped pot, maybe a planter but it would work for lots of other uses too.

P1300890I love making ceramic beads, I love the feel of the clay when rolling it into balls, and choosing the glazes, but my favourite part ( which makes me feel like a girl again) is putting them together in mixed sets. I can spend quite a bit of time doing this, just playing with the beads.
P1300891I hope everyone is feeling productive, I will head over to Stamping Ground to see what you are doing today

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ceramic succultent planters – WOYWW

  1. Vicky says:

    uhm, paper craft people nice and tidy, i don’t think so. Your pots and plants look wonderful already. happy WOYWW from Vicky #10

  2. LLJ says:

    No, we love to see mess, no need to tidy up on our behalf!! I do love the shape of those planters, also the abstract design stamped into the top,and the offset hole. Really fab, love them!!
    Hugs, LLJ 14 xxx

  3. sandra de says:

    Beautiful set of planters and never worry about mess we all make it when the creative energy is in full swing.
    sandra de @11

  4. Zo - Craftygasheadzo says:

    Oh wonderful how different. Love the pots and beads. Take care Zo xx 35

  5. Barbara Williams says:

    Your planters look absolutely stunning. I used to collect succulents many years ago and would have loved some of these. As for being a little girl I think we can all identify with that and I think it’s a good thing I’m sure I bet you never say you’re bored.. Enjoy the rest of your day. Barbxx #26

  6. Cindy says:

    Tidy papercrafters? Whose desks have you been looking at? First time I have seen these and they are AWESOME. I really like them, so unusual. Happy Wednesday, Cindy #29

  7. I love your planters! The textures are wonderful!

  8. Jean Thatcher says:

    you have a lot of talent Jill

    On Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 3:34 AM, Kiln Fired Art Blog wrote:

    > eganj1 posted: “Hello, here’s my table last night, nothing has changed > this morning except these are now covered with polythene to dry slowly. I > have been working with clay recently, hand building succulent planters, and > some more ceramic beads as I’m running out of sto” >

  9. Papercrafters are neat and tidy? Wait until you see my post! Your bowls are absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous. I would buy one in a second if you lived near me. Awesome. I wish you did! BTW – you work with clay! Enjoy the mess! Thanks for sharing, Lindart #57

  10. Rena says:

    I so love the planters!

  11. zksmith says:

    Lovely, deep patterns in the clay and I can see why you like playing with those beads – they’re so cute! Happy WOYWW! zsuzsa #36

  12. Sharon K says:

    Those are really beautiful. Love the beads too.

    Sharon K #49

  13. I am truly mesmerized just looking at your wonderful creations, promise us that you will show your creating area as is and not tidy up? You’re only human just like us and mess is good.
    Bridget #2

  14. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    They look beautiful I’m sure you’ll have to make some more as everyone will want one.

  15. Angela says:

    Gorgeous pots, love them and the beads too. Papercrafters neat and tidy! not sure about that one Lol! I’m wondering whether they will be glazed. Thanks for the visit to mine and happy crafting, Angela x

Leave a Reply

