WOYWW – slip casting mugs and melted bottles

Not made much since last week as I have been away, my succulent planters are still sitting drying slowly, but they have been moved off my table so I can do some slip casting. I have some mugs which have been cleaned and are drying. There’s one I broke when I was cleaning it, they are very fragile at this stage. As you can see slip casting is a very messy business, especially if you don’t have the strap securing the mould tight enough. Last time I did this I was pouring in slip wondering where it was all going, until I looked down at the floor. This time I used 3 straps to be sure it was secure.
Kiln Fired Art studio
Also there’s a  flattened bottle that has just come out the kiln, it’s a customer’s own champagne bottle which has been flattened to hang on the wall. I’m about to pack it up and head off to the Post Office.

If you would like to know more about WOYWW then visit Stamping Ground  to see what Julia and everyone else has been up to.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WOYWW – slip casting mugs and melted bottles

  1. Susanne says:

    Okay, I am fascinated by the idea of flattening a bottle like that. Neat! Happy WOYWW. Susanne #38

  2. Lots of things at different stages – well done. Afraid I had to smile at the picture of the slip going everywhere but where it should be… sorry!!
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #2

  3. Wendy says:

    Looks like you’ve been having fun. I had a go at slip casting at a craft hotel i went to. They had big guns which fired the slip into the moulds.

  4. Diana Taylor says:

    I love the idea of the flattened champagne bottle, how clever, and what a wonderful memento of a special day. I laughed at your slip incident – we’ve all had moments like that – mine was putting the ceiling fan on while the lid was off my gilding flakes pot!
    Hope you have a great week,
    Diana #22

  5. Sharon K says:

    Oh dear, broken mug. The others look great. I love the flattened bottle. Always wondered how that was done.

    Happy WOYWW
    Sharon K #46

  6. lots of fun stuff. I love the flattened bottle!
    Have a great day.
    Diane – WOYWW #36

  7. Shame about the mug, hope that the succulent bowls do well!

  8. Nikki says:

    The bottle looks great fattened and perhaps a broken cup makes an excellent plant holder now shame about it guess that’s why they call it slip

Leave a Reply

