My worktable on WOYWW!

Hello, and yes, my worktable is what I’ve been working on these past few days. I have painted it with Annie Sloan Aubusson paint. I love the colour, the chairs are painted with Country Grey which is a lovely taupe colour. I have also given the floor a coat of paint and done a lot of clearing and sorting out, so a good spring clean all round. I do think it takes time to know how to organise a space like this, it’s taken me nearly 2 years.
P1310359I have taken a ‘pretty’ photo of my table before the chipboard top goes on and my tatty old cloth ready for some glaze work soon. This one is for my Etsy ‘About’ page.

P1310364While it’s nice and tidy, (it won’t look like this for long) I will give you a tour.
I have a mezzanine storage area where I keep all my boxes and bubble wrap as well as stuff I don’t use very often, it can be a bit hairy going up the ladder, or should I say coming down the ladder. Sometimes I think I will just have to sit there until someone notices I’m missing LOL.  I had a display cabinet here but I got rid of it, so there is space for the hooks to hang my cardi, and aprons. The plasterboard is for clay work, bags and bin have clay in them.

P1310368I painted the cupboard and shelving units in the kiln room, I’ve packed away my lampwork stuff and brought in my glass fusing equipment, the space is compact but it’s workable. I still have some metal working tools and my enamelling stuff but I don’t think they will be used much, but I’m hanging on to them for a while yet. I haven’t painted the work bench, it’s for messy jobs, as you can see.
P1310369And this is what came out of the kiln this morning, more about that in my next post. I’m really excited about my new mixed media work but I need to get something finished to show you soon. The trouble is it’s slow work, waiting to have a kiln full of ceramics to fire.
P1310363I still have a couple of pieces of furniture to paint but now I’m off to Stamping Ground to see what you are all up to. Sorry this has been such a long post , I am making up for missing last week 🙂

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My worktable on WOYWW!

  1. Wow! What a lovely room – or should that be rooms? Not sure if it is all the one space… Your work is lovely. Well done. I just love the way you painted the table and shelves and things all in different and toning colours. Your room looks great.
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #5

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Margaret, thanks for your comment, yes it’s 2 rooms. When I planned the studio I wanted to have the kilns in a seperate space with an extractor fan to take out the fumes. I can’t see my space staying so clean and tidy for long

  2. LLJ says:

    How interesting to have a tour of your crafting areas…thank you for that. You have a great workspace, I can see why you enjoy creating your lovely work there. Btw, I adore that paint you’ve done the table with, what a glorious colour! Was it an easy paint to use?
    Hugs, LLJ xxxx

    • eganj1 says:

      Thanks for your reply LLJ, the paint is very easy to apply, especially if you want a rustic look, it’s the waxing I find difficult, sometimes it looks a bit patchy. Have a look on Annie Sloan website, there are some videos showing how easy it is to use this paint.

  3. Cindy says:

    Wow What a great craft room!! And it looks so tidy (for now, heh heh). Love the blue. Happy WOYWW Cindy #36

  4. Thanks for the tour of your studio! Love the colour of the table and the drawers – so calming! Your kilns look the bees knees – very industrial, not just a hobby thing! Happy Wednesday! zsuzsa #37

  5. Your room looks wonderful. I love the colour of your table.

    Sharon K #45

  6. Sussie says:

    It´s a very good colour for being creative you´ve chosen.
    I agree that it takes time to figure out how to make the workspace
    as functional as possible… I changed my room so many times
    before I found the solution I have now. Approx 5 years or so… 😉

    Happy WOYWW!
    Sussie nr 17

  7. Angela says:

    Such a gorgeous place to work, love it. Hope you have a great woyww and a happy crafty week too, Angela x 20

  8. Hi Jill, You didn’t leave your number, but I found you under Kiln Fired Art. You are No.27.

    I am so looking forward to seeing your work. thanks for sharing your work area. i love the colour of the table.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Happy WOYWW
    Sue #18

  9. Jo Betts says:

    I love Annie Sloan paints. What a wonderful job you have done with it! x Jo

  10. Chris Porter says:

    Oh, I LOVE it!!! The colours are so beautiful, and the room is gorgeous. You couldn’t fail to be creative there! And the new buttons are a real hit. Have a wonderful week, Chrysalis 58 xx

  11. Your workspace looks really great! I hope that it inspires you to even more great things!

  12. Wendy says:

    It looks fab! Great colours. Mu workspace really needs some tlc

  13. mortiana says:

    Ohhhhh. you have kilns…… much envy from here! I really want to do ceramic hand prints etc but can’t afford a kiln, and don’t have anywhere to put it if I could! I might be able to stretch to a table top one for my silver jewellery next year, but that’s about it!

    Gorgeous space and colours, very creative and inspiring.

    Morti #30

Leave a Reply

