My Process – from source to design

My Process – from source to design

15 days ago I went out for a walk in the countryside in search of inspiration. I had an overwhelming need to get back to ‘who I am’ and create from the heart. I love the design process, it’s a game, like chess, played out by head and hand.

I came back from my walk inspired and determined to start working on something new, something very different and hopefully by the end of the process I would have made a piece of work to be proud of.

This blog post is about my journey, the thoughts and actions that took place, the concept for a finished piece of work. Kind of a fly on the wall but inside my head.

I love texture and I find rocks, moss, lichens, and bark very inspirational, textures  and abstract pattern always get me fired up. I must have hundreds of these type of photos but a newly taken picture is so much more interesting, everything of that moment is still fresh in the mind and the senses.

I chose a couple of photo’s that I particularly liked.  P1310403My sketchbook, watercolours and a range of drawing materials came out, notes were made; what colours did I like? While working on my sketches I was thinking about how to interpret my ideas, what materials and techniques would work best?

P1310405I knew I wanted these pieces to be mixed media pieces, for a very long time I’ve wanted to combine ceramics and textiles. So I started thinking of how I could achieve this. My first thought was to have the main body of the work as textiles and add on ceramic, or even metal pieces so a quick sketch was made with notes about ideas for making textile textures. I started thinking about using subtle colours on some pieces but strengthening the colour for other pieces.
P1310402

The journey of making an actual ‘artwork’ began, I started making a textile picture. The picture needed 3 dimensional elements made from either enamelled copper, or ceramic clay, so I set about and made both. I will finish this piece and I will show it at a later date, but this is where I went off on a tangent and started making some clay pieces.

The clay pieces needed to dry, they were then fired. They were coloured and refired, interestingly I went with my favourite colour palette and deeper hues than I originally intended. I had quite a wait, ceramics is a slow process and sometimes the excitement waned, but once my tiles were fired my enthusiasm returned.

I have spent the last couple of days working on the textile part, more scribbles and notes were made. This was a journey of discovery as I had to learn several new techniques along the way, including soluble fabric, (which is amazing). I discovered needle felting from the wrong side could push the fibers through the fabric giving a fabulous mossy effect.
P1310401I have literally just finished my pieces, I want to write this post when everything is still fresh and exciting in my mind. So here are some photos, I still need to frame them but that’s for another day.

Now I need is to think of a name for my new body of work. I’m not finished yet, there will be more to come.

P1310388

P1310386

P1310390

P1310392

P1310394

P1310396

P1310383

P1310382

I need to take a step back and assess the finished work, I like to look at them for a few days and think about how I could have improved on them, what will I do differently with the next pieces, how will I finish the predominantly textile pieces. But for now my head needs a rest, I feel content but quite exhausted.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think, good or bad I’d love your feedback.

Jill

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Process – from source to design

  1. The more I look at these, the more I love them, they’re really beautiful Jill 🙂

  2. They are just stunning and I find something new every time I look at them.

  3. They are amazing, the detail you have in them. I love the mixed media element to them. Stunning.

  4. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    Beautiful, lovely colours, natural, they are great.

  5. eganj1 says:

    thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it
    Jill

  6. love them and beautiful colours

  7. They are really gorgeous, the colours, the textures, the organic feeling…! The third one is actually my favorite, I love how a little bit of the textile texture seems to grow out.

  8. Wendy says:

    WOW! These pieces are stunning and so original. I want to touch them, or at least get up close and examine them. They are definitely worthy of an exhibition.

Leave a Reply

