Ceramic Succulent Planters and Ikebana Vases

Here are my new handbuilt ceramic succulent planters , a new range from Kiln Fired Art . I love the way the texture reflects the form of the succulent plants. Once planted they take very little looking after, I have had mine planted up for 3 months and it’s only been watered 2 or 3 times.  I think this must be because they are covered so there is little evaporation. My succulent is an Echevera, and it’s so happy it has even flowered.

I put a layer of gravel in the base of the pot, then planted in cacti compost and topped it off with some more gravel.

I think the key to growing succulent plants is to not over water, I have a moisture meter that I can easily poke into the soil , but if you just feel the compost with your finger you can feel if it is damp.

It’s been pointed out to me that these are the perfect bowl for Ikebana, Japanese flower arranging, so I have ordered a pin to try it out.

succulent planters ceramic handmade x
I haven’t blogged much lately as I have been so busy with my new work. Something in my stars must have been in alignment lately as I have been quite prolific and produced 3 new lines of work, I will show you more in the next few days.

Enjoy your weekend

Jill

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ceramic Succulent Planters and Ikebana Vases

  1. They are amazingly beautiful Jill. 🙂
    Do you think it would host a money plant and not topple over. One of the smaller ones as my window sill wont take a big one even though I love them the most.
    Elaine x

  2. eganj1 says:

    Thanks Elaine, I 4hink the large pot would hold a small money plant

  3. CS Art photo says:

    these are wonderful, you give me inspiration to play more with my clay. I love the textures .

Leave a Reply

