The Slow Art Of Kiln Fired Art !

I have 2 kiln loads of bisque waiting to be glazed, and while I was unstacking the kiln I was thinking it would be great if  things could happen more quickly, but good things are worth waiting for so I came up with this slogan……

The slow art of Kiln Fired Art – good things are worth the wait.

It’s true because I have some pots that came out the kiln yesterday that I love, they were fired a third time to add copper and platinum lustre. Thinking about all the time involved from rolling out a ball of clay, and forming the pots. Then the wait of a week or so until they are dry, with some time spent cleaning them between. Next they are fired, slowly, I usually get up early to put the kiln on so it’s finished before I go to bed. Then the wait until the kiln is cool enough to open and unstack. Then time spent adding 3 or 4 coats of glaze, and drying time before firing and cooling again.

Usually this is the end product but if I want to add overglazes or lustres there’s more time painting and firing and cooling and waiting. Overglaze painting could be another 3 firings at least.

So you see why I need to learn patience but good things are worth waiting for don’t you think?
Ikebana bowl

Succulent planter

succulent planter

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Slow Art Of Kiln Fired Art !

  1. Annie Nowak says:

    Well worth the wait as all good things are! I love the effect on all of them and I’d be hard pressed to choose a favourite.

  2. eganj1 says:

    Thank you Annie, I’m loving where this journey is taking mr. X

  3. Suzanne Claxton says:

    They are beautiful, they really enhance the plants, which is no mean feat!

  4. CS Art photo says:

    Thank you again for all the inspiration, I made my first succulent pot ( not very even sided but ….) and for me who is a fast painter. the long process from start to finish is definitely teaching me patience. or at least it tries too 😉

Leave a Reply

