The Art of Ikebana – less is more!

I bought some flowers yesterday so I have been photographing some ikebana bowls. I set up on the table in the garden room, the light is great in there unless the sun comes out, which it did, but the blinds do a great job of filtering the light.
photo shoot

I bought an inexpensive mixed bouquet and picked a few bits from the garden , including some sorbus berries, I think this one is called Kashmiriana.

I just ad libbed and didn’t bother with my ikebana book, I soon realised less is more so I started removing some bits and pieces. It’s much better when you can see the bowl don’t you think? And the container and floral arrangement should harmonise, I chose these flowers to compliment the copper lustre on the pot.
copper turquoise ikebana bowl

Also these chrysanthemums echo the design on this pot. Small pom pom dahlias would work well too.
Ikebana dish from Kiln Fired ArtI also had a play with my small pot which is intended to be a succulent planter . I’m not sure if it follows the tradition of ikebana but I thought it worked well as a container.
Ikebana potIt’s surprising how effective a couple of flowers and some foliage from the garden can be.

I’m really enjoying learning about ikebana, so much so I think I might have to get a dedicated console table for the hall, to place a Zen greeting when you come indoors.
Ikebana bowls

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Art of Ikebana – less is more!

  1. Rena Solis says:

    These are all such lovely arrangements. So enjoyed seeing them…Rena

Leave a Reply

