Using a Hague linker to sew up knitwear.

I finished knitting my jacket; it’s been a long time since I knit a garment on needles so I was pleased I actually got to the end. The merino wool was quite expensive so I wanted to get it sewn up straight away to see if I’d got the sizing correct.

This old Hague linker was sitting in my Dad’s loft, it hadn’t been used in over 20 years but I thought I’d give it a go, it makes sewing up very easy, neat and quick.

It’s all threaded up ready to go. It didn’t work as well as I’d hoped as the yarn was too thick, but I can give you an idea of how the linker works, but it’s better suited to 4ply yarn.
P1390164

This is the finished jacket , now I need to make some buttons, oh btw it fits 🙂

P1390201You feed the edge of the garment onto the prongs.P1390161Then with right sides together you push the other piece of the garment onto the prongs. It’s really easy to pattern match.
P1390162Then you weave in the ends.P1390163Thread up and you are ready to go. I’m doing this video one handed so I apologise for the quality, but it shows how the linker works.

You can sew up really fast with it if you are using 4ply and you aren’t holding a camera, there is even an electric version with a foot pedal.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

