A New Adventure Into Digital Fiber Art

I try to learn at least one new technique in January, this past week I have ventured into digital fiber art with the help of a wonderful new book by Wen Redmond. I love this book, it’s opened up a whole new world to me, this is my first piece of digital fiber art.

P1390510I don’t have any fancy photo manipulation software but after a google I found iPiccy.com which is really quite easy to use.
IMG_9310This is the photo I started with, I did some manipulations and saved a whole host of versions that I liked including the ones below.

woods3

treesxxx

trees1zzI wanted to try out layering so I nipped out into the garden and took a few bush pictures.

P1390474 (2)Then I started out layering images.
merge17I decided to print this one onto my fabric, I think I chose it as I was reading a magical book called ‘The Snow Child,’ also I felt this image had an Arthur Rackham quality to it.
picture1After some painting, stitching and collage here is the final result, it’s a lot more sparkly in reality than it looks in the photo.
P1390521

I can’t wait to start on another one soon, I think I’m hooked. Now if only I could get a better photo, I will have to get the light tent out and try again.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A New Adventure Into Digital Fiber Art

  1. Wow! The result is amazing! I love it!

  2. Rena Solis says:

    Oh my! What a lovely medium you are delving into now! Hope to see more soon’

  3. Suzanne Claxton says:

    Oooohh, so inspiring! I’ve never even considered doing something like this (first time I’ve seen anything like it) and your piece is so beautiful.

  4. eganj1 says:

    Thanks Sue, this is fantastic book, I have learned a lot and now I have loads of ideas I want to try out.

  5. Pingback: January 2017 Review | Kiln Fired Art Blog

Leave a Reply

