Making a paint brush from a feather

I saw a video on Youtube showing how to make a brush from a feather, I love unusual mark making tools so I thought I’d give it a go.

My feathers from Patricia arrived in the post and I set to making a brush
P1400028

Cutting the feather went ok
P1400029I soon found that getting a beautiful fine tip on my brush wasn’t that simple, but I think I know where I went wrong. The widest side on the feather needs to be the uncut slanting section. But as I like unusual mark making tools it doesn’t matter, it’s the quality / properties of the line which I’m interested in.

So here are my brushes, I do have handles to put them onto if I choose to do that. I was very keen to have a go so off I went to paint a little watercolour, but I’d forgotten one very important thing……..

P1400034
………have you ever seen a wet goose? The phrase ‘water off a duck’s back’ says it all….

I will be using my overglaze enamels in the next few days and I’m confident that my brushes will work with an oil based medium. Watch this space.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

