Note to self…… pay more attention

Last week Veronica invited me to join in with an art challenge. I was in a bit of a rush, as usual so I went over and had a quick read of what the challenge was and mulled over what I was going to do whilst doing other things during the week.

I have friends coming for a craft weekend, which I’m really looking forward to so yesterday  between shopping and a trip to the gym I kept popping out to the studio, adding a wash here and there, then went off to do some scone making or whatever while the painting dried.

So great I thought, I had something finished to schedule on my blog for the weekend, the only problem being I didn’t read and fully absorb the theme of the challenge, I only remembered ‘RITUAL’ and forgot the ‘AND ROUTINES’ part of the challenge.

Now you know it’s not strictly on theme ( I find it hard to stick closely to ‘rules’ anyway) this is how my thought process worked, then you can decide if I pulled off my own challenge with this little piece.

I have a bit of a ‘thing’ for stone circles, I have visited quite a few, Stonehenge, Avebury, Castlerigg, and Callanish come to mind as the most impressive. I also have a ‘thing’ for the Aurora Borealis which I haven’t seen yet, but it’s on my bucket list. I thought about how important stone circles were to the ancients and their ritual practices, and how seeing the Aurora at a stone circle would have to be one of the most amazing sight’s ever.

Then I got to thinking about my composition, how to make the stone shapes and negative space interesting. How to ‘ground’ the stones and link them together, how to paint the aurora in the night sky, maybe have some moonlight dancing on the stones, and how using counterchange, light against dark to hopefully add some drama.

Callanish Stone CircleI really enjoyed this exercise it made me think outside my comfort zone so in that respect it was a success. I get too bogged down in producing finished pieces and earning a crust to find time to play. This one is going into a scrap book, hopefully there will be more little exercises to follow. So thank you Veronica for inviting me to join in, next time I will try to stick to the brief.

Now I’m off to get the studio ready for my friend’s arrival this afternoon.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

