Saggar fired raku pots

There is nothing more rewarding than venturing into unknown territory, and then having an end result way beyond what you imagined.

That’s what happened yesterday with my saggar fired raku pots.

My pots were poured with ferric chloride solution which was left over from my copper etching attempts. Then wrapped in aluminium foil to make a saggar. This pot had some copper wire, grass seeds, salt and a fir cone inside, I think I can see some cardamoms in there too.

P1430265

I put some china paint on this one, no salt or wire. I forgot to photograph the third pot but it had, copper wire, salt, cloves and cut up pieces of metal pan scrub.P1430264The garden incinerator was used to fire the pots, they had already been bisque fired in my electric kiln. P1430266Ready to go.
P1430268Once the charcoal was alight it was time to put on the lid. We watched it the whole time and had buckets of water and a hose pipe ready should they be needed.
P1430272
P1430273When the charcoal had just about burnt out the pots were lifted out, I thought the colours were a bit pale but at least the pots were in one piece.
P1430277As the pots cooled the colours developed, it was fascinating to watch the browns appear on the pots as they cooled, this pot is unwaxed just as it came out the bin.
P1430289

The wax enhanced the colours even more, I actually did a little woo hoo at this point. P1430294These are the waxed pots, the china paint went black probably because of the ash sticking to the flux in the enamel but it still looks quite interesting. I’m unsure why there is a light line running down the pot, all I can think is it’s where the edge of the foil was.
raku vaseThe fir cone left some marks inside the pot.
raku potThis is my favourite pot, I love the brown wiggly lines from the pan scrubber, and the black lines from the copper wire, and the lovely texture inside from the salt. So much to look at, and so tactile.
raku bowlAnd here is my little group with pride of place on my sideboard.P1430313I can’t wait to fire some more today. 🙂

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saggar fired raku pots

  1. Leni Strong says:

    Love the pots- so natural looking!

  2. Love all of the effects, will you experiment with some glazes as well?

    • eganj1 says:

      Thanks Annie, yes I will be doing some raku with glazes, I have done these before. I will have to use my electric kiln then transfer the pots to the raku bin outside before they cool too much so I need to work out the logisitcs first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

