Some watercolour paintings

I came across some paintings during my clear out last week, they were destined for the bin, but I had some L’s lying around so I thought I’d see what they looked like with a mount. L’s are just a mount cut in two to make L’s , they are used to try out different crops to see  which part of the painting works and what doesn’t. Negative space is important as it can really improve a painting.
All of these paintings were done a good many years ago. I think it’s good to go back and look at your own work after a long time, you have lost the emotional attachment and you can be more honest and critical.

This picture was on a much larger piece of paper, the flowers were lost
P1290376
This painting just doesn’t work for me, I think it’s too fussy, the eye doesn’t know where to go, and there is too much distracting background
P1290377
Out came the L’s

P1290379I decided to try a few crops, I think they improve things but I’m still not that happy with the painting.
P1290385
This little painting was done very quickly to try techniques for a larger painting, I think I kept it because the large painting never got done. Putting a mount around it made me really look,  this would be a great study for a textile picture. Maybe I will find the time soon.
P1290374

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some watercolour paintings

  1. Well I like them all but that thistle one is very pretty indeed..xx

  2. Sue Reynolds says:

    There isn’t a one of these that I wouldn’t happily give wall space – I love the backgrounds, and the intricacy of the petals. Absolutely true that we are our own worst critics.

  3. marci says:

    I agree with Sue about we are our own worst critics ! ! I LOVE the white flowers.. and I think either crop on that piece is fabulous. really focuses in on the flowers.

Leave a Reply

