My conflict between perfection and the not so perfect.

As I continue to learn how to throw pots on the wheel I have come to realise there’s conflict going on in my head.

I’m sure anyone who throws pots will, like me, be striving for perfection. I am loving this challenge and the journey will take me for ever.

However there is a conflict going on in my head and I know it’s been going on for a long time, not just since I got my wheel. I love clean lines and contemporary design but I also love rustic too. I love hand building and wonky pots, the urge to pick them up and connect with them is so very strong. So there you have my conflict.

I guess I will continue to love both, I will continue to strive for perfection in my thrown pieces and continue making wabi and sabi hand built pieces, I  have strong urges to ‘alter’ my thrown pieces so maybe the two styles will meet somewhere, who knows. It’s enough to have fun just making.

Here’s a couple of pieces that came out of the kiln this morning, a salad bowl and a berry bowl.

The salad bowl is thrown, it has a couple of issues I need to address, it has warped a bit and the glaze has some minute pinholes, so I will strive to perfect these issues at my next attempt to make the perfect bowl.

Ceramic bowl
The berry bowl is hand built, while making this I imagined it sitting on the kitchen table at Cragside  and maybe a kitchen maid stealing one of the berries. It’s really quite wonky in shape but I like that in hand built ceramics, I just want to pick it up and steal a strawberry myself.

Berry bowlI quite like the idea of not really knowing where my journey is going, who knows I may end up somewhere in the middle, only time will tell.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My conflict between perfection and the not so perfect.

  1. Laney says:

    oh my goodness Jill that berry bowl is just amazing!! I love a bit of wonky but like you I strive for perfection, BUT what is that saying? one mans trash is another mans treasure 😉

  2. Pingback: Creative time with friends | Kiln Fired Art Blog

  3. marci blattenberger says:

    I am absolutely loving the things that are coming out of your kiln , my friend! Loving the raku . Thats something that I ve always wanted to try and never have …so Im glad youre getting to do it. Amazing work!

  4. eganj1 says:

    Hi Marci, thank you for your comments, raku is a lot of fun, if you get the chance you should try it. I hope you are still enjoying your silver jewellery making.

Leave a Reply

