More Raku Bowls

I managed to get another raku firing done last week, in between the days of torrential rain. I have been waiting eagerly to fire up the kiln again but the weather has been so bad this summer.

I made several pieces including these 3 bowls which are a little experiment. The one on the left is the heavily grogged raku clay, the middle bowl is this same clay but with a layer of stoneware slip on top which makes it look a lot smoother. The bowl on the right is a new clay for me, it’s Ashraf Hanna’s raku clay.
P1440384I wanted to see how they fair during the firing process.
This is the one on the left after firing
P1440434The middle pot with the slip has an interesting crackle effect
P1440407

And the Ashraf Hanna one, I think for bowls this is my preferred clay but I will tell you about a project involving the heavily grogged clay in my next post.
P1440416Also my daughter is home so she has had a play on the wheel and these are her pots after firing. Very wabi sabi, with some lovely colours.
P1440390

So this raku firing was a success, I think I’ve cracked it ( or not cracked my pots) 🙂

I got up early this morning to list a few of my raku bowls in my Etsy shop.

raku pots

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Raku Bowls

  1. Laney says:

    love the third pot, those colours are lovely ☺

    • eganj1 says:

      Thanks Laney, that’s my favourite, it has some lovely copper hues. The thing that’s exciting about raku is you never know how they will come out

  2. CS Art photo says:

    Really Nice job, I am getting some glazed, cannot wait to raku again.

Leave a Reply

