Ending the month on a high

I can’t believe it’s the end of August already and I’m seeing the month out on a high.
It didn’t start so well, the weather has been dreadful but in the end I had a wonderful day raku firing last weekend, we managed to do 11 firings in the day so that made a bit of room in my studio.
IMG_20170826_153909_772

IMG_20170826_153909_770The month didn’t go completely to plan as I still haven’t fired the dinner set. I glazed a few vases with some of the combos from my test firing experiment. I was so disappointed when I opened the kiln. The glazes didn’t do what I’d hoped for.
P1440735I did get some wonderful pieces from the raku firing though, including all these leaves which seemed to fit in so well with the bank holiday weather, the rest of the country was basking in sunshine but it felt like Autumn here. I even stood with an umbrella over the kiln for a time.
Raku leavesI think this leaf is gorgeous.

Raku leafI fired rather a lot of small bowls and some pots too, some made me squeal with excitement. I have decided although I love them all I’m going to have to sell some to make more so they will be on my Facebook page hopefully on Sunday.

I made a lot of little bowls, this is my favourite

raku bowls

And some pots, the colour on this one was a surprise

P1440870And a lovely coppery one, which was fired twice, the first time it just looked a bit mediocre.

raku pot from Kiln Fired ArtOh, and my dish, I love this ,it will be hard to part with it so I’m kind of hoping no one buys it but if they do I can buy more glazes and make some more.

Raku platterTwo pots ‘kissed’ in the kiln , you can just see a mark near the base where the glaze came off. But I think these marks showing the making process just add to a raku pot don’t you?

P1440883

There was a weird thing happen with this leaf, the one I used to stamp into the clay had some black paint on it, obviously I’d used it for another project but I thought it would just fire away, it didn’t. I’m not so sure I like the effect on this leaf but it’s good to know that china paint might hold under a raku glaze.

P1440878There were a few breakages too, this vase is very heavy in the base, it actually flew off the wheel when I was throwing it , I should have dumped it in the bucket but I decided to alter the shape and fire it to see what happened. It cracked. But I love the effect on the front, it reminds me of a lightning storm.

raku vases

Raku vase from Kiln Fired ArtI don’t have time to post all my photos from my raku firing but if you head over to Kiln Fired Art on Facebook on Sunday you can see them all in an album ‘Raku Pieces For Sale’.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ending the month on a high

  1. Helen says:

    Wow, you’ve got some really beautiful pieces there! I love the leaves and your favourite little pot. Your industry amazes me and makes me feel very lazy!

  2. Helen says:

    Little bowl, rather. Glorious colours. Are you going to be selling your leaves?

  3. Laney says:

    Jill your bowls are amazing!!

  4. Jean Thatcher says:

    your things are great jean thatcher

    Jean Thatcher Original Art in Porcelain, Watercolor and Mixed Media http://www.JeanThePainter.com

    On Tue, Aug 29, 2017 at 11:12 AM, Kiln Fired Art Blog wrote:

    > eganj1 posted: “I can’t believe it’s the end of August already and I’m > seeing the month out on a high. It didn’t start so well, the weather has > been dreadful but in the end I had a wonderful day raku firing last > weekend, we managed to do 11 firings in the day so that ma” >

  5. Love them all Jill even the ones that didn’t go according to plan, might have to have a sneaky look Sunday night if only to see the rest of them. Here’s to a good September crafting wise.

Leave a Reply

