Learning with online courses.

I really love going on art and craft courses but I can’t find anything I want to do locally. But I do find online courses very enjoyable, especially those with lifetime access. It’s great to be able to pick up on a course when time permits and in the comfort of your own home. This is one positive thing that came out of lockdown.

There are lots of free taster courses out there, they are a great way to find out if you like something before going deeper. This is how I found Flourish, a friend told me about the free taster course. I simply had to continue with Flourish as what I did on Ellie’s free course resonated deeply with me.

I made this picture on Ellie Hipkin’s taster course.

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I started Flourish, I have really enjoyed this course so much, it’s well structured with just enough each month to not feel overwhelmed. Some months when time was short I made one piece of work but other times I did more exploration. Ellie has given me confidence with free motion embroidery as well as other textile art skills and techniques. I now have the foundations to explore and grow in future.

A piece I made on Flourish with Ellie Hipkin.

Over the past year or two (while I was still working) I bought several courses to enjoy at a later date to keep my creative juices flowing during retirement.

Courses with Jannette Phillips, Susan McCreevy, Deborah Campbell, Cas Holmes, Tara Axford and Cordula Cagemann, some I have already started and others are completely new. Also several Domestika courses with various artists. I am looking forward to getting started, I’m sure I won’t get bored in retirement, all I need to do now is tidy up the studio and begin.

I painted this on Susan McCreevy’s course Evocative Landscapes.

Also, I intend just doing my own thing, I have always been someone who loves to experiment but that hasn’t happened much in recent years as life sometimes gets in the way. I intend dedicating some time each week just for experimenting. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.