Walking in the Yorkshire Dales

It’s been a while since we have had a few days way walking, it felt so good to get back out there, even the rain and mud didn’t deter me.

We decided to stay in Kettlewell as we know the area. We lived in Grassington for a while and would have stayed there but it’s so busy since the village appeared on TV as the fictional Darrowby in the TV show ‘All Creatures Great and Small’. More about that later.

Kettlewell is a charming small village with 2 pubs serving great food, and perfectly located for a couple of days walking so what’s not to like? For some reason I forgot to take photos of Kettlewell but you can read all about it here https://www.kettlewell.info/ .

Our first day’s walk was a mission, we set out to find a barn that is the subject of an oil painting owned by a friend. The painting belonged to his parents who loved the Yorkshire Dales.

We started our walk from Grassington car park, down to Linton falls. I felt a bit emotional as this was my daily walk when we lived here. I think the Wharfe is my favourite river.

From Linton we took a path across the fell to Thorpe, where we hoped to find the barn. We looked down onto the river. The weather was good and Grassington looked so cozy nestled into the valley.

Knowing from the artist’s daughter roughly the whereabouts of the barn it was easy to find, and with a copy of the painting we could find the exact spot from where it was painted.

I too found lots of inspiration in and around Thorpe.

From Thorpe we set off across the fells to Hebden where we had to cross back over the river Wharfe. The choice of a suspended bridge, which was quite bouncy won hands down, rather than the stepping stones, the river was too high.

In Hebden we headed to the Old School cafe which has the best carrot cake I’ve ever tasted. It’s always a welcome place to rest and take in some refreshments including a big pot of Yorkshire tea, before heading back along the river to Grassington. Again this used to be part of my regular walk when living in the area.

We weren’t so lucky with the weather on day 2, it rained all day, the paths were incredibly muddy, we were suited and booted in wet weather clothing so it wasn’t too bad although by the end of the day I looked like a mud wrestler. We headed off on another of our regular walks along the tops to Grassington. This walk always makes me think of Wuthering Heights, if only I could sing like Kate Bush.

The views weren’t so great, but it was moody. I love the starkness of the limestone pavement.

One of the things that I love about the Yorkshire Dales is the sound of the curlew. Both days we were lucky enough to see them throughout the day, and hear their bubbling call. We also saw and heard oyster catchers and lapwing. Such inspiration for a course I’m about to take with Deborah Campbell over on Flourish.

As I said earlier Grassington is now used as a film set for ‘All Creatures Great and Small’, which is based on the books by James Herriot. This is the house used as Siegfried’s practice and home, Skeldale House.

The marketplace features too, but the shops have different fronts on them.

To us though the marketplace is a reminder of having a stall at the Dickensian Christmas Fairs. It was a magical experience as the place is transformed and snow only added to this magic.

While in Grassington we visited our old haunts and had to buy a bacon roll and a cake for lunch from the bakers.

As the rain wasn’t letting up we decided to get the bus back to Kettlewell. A Dales bus ride is an experience in its own right, being higher up you get to see more. After a shower and a change of clothes we sat by the log fire in the pub with a roast dinner and a drink, and had a bit of craic with the locals.

Before setting off home we had a trip to Hawes creamery where they make the famous Wensleydale cheese so loved by Wallace and Gromit. Followed by a walk along the Gayle beck, I needed to walk off the biggest fruit scone I’ve ever eaten in my life.

If you read the Inspector Grimm novels by David J. Gatward you will know that Gayle is home to Inspector Grimm. I love this series, the characters feel very real and again I know the area well. I’m currently reading number 16.

What a perfect end to a great couple of days, if this is what retirement is like then I can’t wait.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.