Preparing Botanical Cyanotypes For An Art Exhibition.

I’ve had quite an exiting, but also frustrating week making decisions, and framing up some of my artwork for an up and coming exhibition at the end of May.

I need to submit an inventory with prices and titles, I prefer to do that after framing, just in case for whatever reason I change my mind about a piece once I see it in a frame.

It’s been a frustrating time as I ordered frames from 3 places and 2 lots were damaged when they arrived, almost half the frames in total. The other lot I had mistaken the internal mount size as the frame size so that was my mistake, but still I can’t use them. Oh well, it’s a reason to work larger in future. I did get a replacement delivery from one company, all but the top frame were once again damaged in the same way due to poor packing. I give up.

I have been looking at my botanical cyanotype prints for some time wondering if I should stitch into them. I love them just as they are but I did decide to do a little stitching as I want to emphasise that they are textiles. I only did a little stitching mainly into the backgrounds as I want the print to be the star of the show.

I will show you some of the other pieces that I’ve chosen for the art fair in another post soon.

Here are some of the stitched textures close up.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.